hip hop

rygon

i have just finished watchint he MTV hip hop cerermony of the most influential rap artist (and it was amazing..they had proper djs on there like grandmaster flash, kid rock..yeh hes a decent dj, and mix master mike) along with the best mcs etc doing there biz (and even breakdancers...rockafellas were they called....im not too sure cos im not too good athip hop history..but they were struting their stuff)

anyway it made me think (seeing this is a pre-domentory hip hop site) what does hip hop/rap mean to you...could be a certain band of way of life, but i'd like to know (and no zappa comments dee lol). cos i wasnt born in the hip hop movement time (or in the right place)..but since being with this board and knoing ppl from here ive come to an understanding (and passionate liking) to the "movement" of this certain music...so all im asking is a bit of background of each person about this type of culture

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I got into it in '83 when I was at school. The 80's were almost certainly the best years so far for hip hop IMO. I've got hundreds of hip hop albums, but I find myself listening to the old stuff far more than anything that's been released recently. I know a lot of people my age who are like that - I dunno if it's just cos we're stuck in the past or whether the music really has got worse. I guess cos hip hop is everywhere and it's become extremely commercial - that leads to a lot of very poor music being released, whereas back in the day I would go to Ruby Red Records in Wolverhampton and pick out an album at random and I'd almost certainly buy it. Now days I hardly buy anything, but again I dunno if that's me being old and stuck in reminiscing mode or what.