[Tutorial] Orbit, Delayed, Autobahn, Boomerang

Yoshi

Broke, don't you think it makes sense to call the orbit starting from the sixth sound as the delayed? That's the only way I can see why it's referred to as "delayed"... Why do you think the term "delayed" was used?

Broke, don't you think it makes sense to call the orbit starting from the sixth sound as the delayed? That's the only way I can see why it's referred to as "delayed"... Why do you think the term "delayed" was used?

It made sense to me. The boomerang is just a two click orbit. The record motion is faster than the clicks thus the clicks are delayed.

This is why terminology in scratching sucks sometimes. Too much room for various interpretation.

I haven't watched your clip so I don't really know what you mean in your first sentence above.

I never stopped to think about it. I mean, like Steve, I've been scratching for over 20 years, before the internet and YouTube and way before we even had normal flares. Over time, all this terminology started appearing, but no doubt different people all over the world were calling things by different names. When the delayed 2-clicker came out that's just what it was, the scratch in that clip I posted. If you're wondering why it's called that, I think aliosity said something about the fader hand clicking later than normal, so that's why it was delayed.

If you want to REALLY get into terminology etc, it isn't really a flare at all, because in the strictest sense a 'flare' is creating a silent point with the fader while the sound plays, i.e. the opposite of transforming. Clicking on the change in direction wasn't flaring unless you had another click in the combo which created a silent point in the sound (or the 'pass').

What Kwote said also makes total sense.

PECAE