bpming records

TopherEightyFive

anyone have their collection bpm'd?

ive been djing for about 4 years now and havent bpm'd my records. i remember when i started i looked down upon it because i felt like i was cheating myself of how to beatmatch by ear and didnt look back. now that i know how to beatmatch, ive been thinking about it. recently, a veteran local dj was telling me some of his tricks and he told me that he bpm'd every record (and all tracks on each record just incase he wanted to throw in a b-side track on a lp). it got me thinking that it might be helpful for me because sometimes i think i know the approximate tempo to a song and when i que it up on my headphones, i figure that it wont work and have to scramble for another record. it hasnt become that much of a problem right now cause my record collection is relatively small but i imagine im not gonna remember approx tempos to songs when my collection gets bigger. i think itll help me pack a crate more effectively and thus help with quick mixing.

i bought some masking tape, sharpies and a stop watch.. and im just sitting here considering if i really want to do this. i think it can potentially help me immensely, i just cant get over one problem: i dont want to deface my sleeves with masking tape on the top of each (a la z-trip). i shouldnt really care i guess cause im not a collector, im a dj.. but it still makes me think twice. one good thing i can see coming from it is that it can help me organize my records cause alot of my records are in blank sleeves and i always end up putting things in the wrong place.

im just typing up my thoughts. sorry for the length. any thoughts?

I think it's a good idea. It's probably just a little daunting as you've got a whole collection to BPM, but once that's done it won't be so bad if you keep up to date. Can't you use stickers on the record sleeve, so you could peel them off?

BPM'ing, biggest bang for you pain