So if you dont like "M$" windows . . . .

2ndhand

about 5 years ago i had a bash with linux. redhat linux 7. pretty manky to say the least.

after a heated discussion yesterday with my boss telling me how SHIT windows was i thought i would give linux a try again and prove him wrong

i am struggling here

i have contectiva 10 Linux, running KDE 3.2.3 and its pretty fucking smart.

the browser i am in (right now!) is "Mozilla".

i am running this distrubution of linux on a p3 700, with 128 meg of memory. could use more memory i reckon.

i am a linux novice, but i have managed to hook this workstation onto our windows 2000 domain, and thus to the net. so i am set!

graphically kde 3.2.3 is superb. everything is soft. the icons make windows icons look like they were done on an etch a sketch

i dont know yet

but my installation spanned 3 cd's, and i selected all options

as the 800+ applications were installing, i noticed a program called "run windows programs"

if it can do that . . . . well . . . .

the whole operating system i have installed is free

aside from finding stuff that works with linux (then getting it to work :@ )

its pretty good

i wish windows looked like this

Guest Deeswift

There's only one or two reasons why I can't use Linux -- my modem drivers won't run under anything but Windows being the important one

:@

If they did, I'd be on it.

Guest Deeswift

Right, I have no idea about ethernet, networks, NIC cards, NAC cards, NECK cards, NUCKA cards, playing cards, routers, or giraffes or terrapins.

You tell me man, fuck knows.

ok mate

with your modem did you get another wire, that has plastic clips on the end (a bit like a phone wire but with a different plug)

i reckon you would have done.

have you got a network card in your pc? or on board lan?

if you have, plug the cable from the onboard lan to the modem

take off and discard the usb cable.

get a command prompt (type command at the command line)