The mics.. what to buy?

Allright fellas. So im getting more and more into producing and me and my buddy want to start setting up live shows. So my question is whats a good economical mic i can buy that would be good for using live and also for recording to use in the studio. I have no experience what so ever with mics so I am open to all suggestions. Thanks in advance.

p.s. I wish money was not a factor but it is. At the same time I dont mind spending the cash if its worth the better quality.

nice one xander.... Now would this be good enough for example I have a buddy who plays sax and I usually go over to his place to record him play.. except the mic i use is a piece of shit, this would be fine for a situation like that? Have you used it and do you got a GC hook up?? Thanks again for the reply.

Anyone else have experience with this or another mic they could reccomend.

If you want ONE inexpensive mic get an sm 58 or maybe a sennheiser E855. Good solid stage mics that are reasonable enough quality for some recording work.

One mic isn't going to do a great job with a lot of things though. jack of all trades master of none and all that. A dynamic mic certainly won't do justice to a sax in a studio. Though if he plays like Kenny G thats probably a good thing.

niiiice thanks fellas. ill look into it then. i would want to buy two mics one for the studio and one for giggin but i really dont have enough mullah.

So im assuming the mic in your avatar is out of the question dextrous?

Anyone else got any sushessions? saint come on you do this kind of stuff all the time.