Pandora vs Spotify

JHouse

Which one do you like better, and why?

I've been curating Pandora stations for several years, which has suggested some really good music to me, but there are a couple issues I'm not too happy about.

1. If I Like something, it plays it repeatedly, to the point where I'm over it. It seldom gives me new stuff per station, and when it does, it's often wack. Sometimes though, it'll turn me on to some new ish I really like, for instance Jel.

2. I'm subscribed to Pandora Plus, so I pay $4.99 a month for ad free* service. Thing is, every time I launch it, Pandora prompts me to upgrade to their Premium service. I always have to click "Skip Trial," thus it's not really ad free listening. That's complete BS and I shouldn't have to skip the f'n trial every time.

So, I'm interested in better streaming services, also ones that provide better financial kickbacks to the original artists.

What are your thoughts?

I've only ever used free trials for Spotify. I like it for sure and it seems to offer a massive catalogue of tunes, but I think I'll always be in the "if I like it, I need it on physical media and/or a digital file stored locally" mentality, which makes Spotify kinda surplus to requirements for me.

Understandable. Yeah, I like to have ish stored locally, but I also appreciate Pandora and similar streaming services because it turns me on to related music...stuff that I might later buy. I just get irritated when it plays the same thing, and the frickin' company ads, hence the impetus for this thread.

I had never used a streaming service until a trial of Spotify last year. Which I ended up not ever using.

Although just before Christmas there was an offer for TIDAL for 4 months for 4 quid or so. So i did it.

I've been using it fuck all, but the main reason I gave it a try is, it integrates with Serato. I've been gigging a lot recently where this would actually come in handy.