Any Londoners know anything about this DJ/production place?

Steve

Where is he from? I studied at Alchemea and the class above mine was almost entirely made up of former Point Blank students, who had been forced to drop out because of the school's failure to sort out their visa paperwork. I'd be wary of that if he's non-EU, but other than that it's supposed to be a really good place - I think Dooban did some Ableton training there, he'll be able to tell you more.

• Like 1

He's Iranian, currently living in Azerbaijan, so non-EU unfortunately.

He's looking for a place in the UK, preferably London, where he can study DJing/production. He's already got a degree and is a qualified dentist - I'm not sure if that makes any difference to him being allowed to come here or not, but more qualified/skilled people probably stand a better chance I would have thought.

Can you recommend anywhere that would be good for non-EU folks?

As I said, I studied at Alchemea and couldn't recommend it enough. It is an engineering course, though, so it covers more than just production (acoustics, live recordings, studio building, etc) which might not be his thing - still, a lot of people in my year were into EDM, and some guys called Third Party went there as well, which hopefully will mean more to him than it did to me. He should have a good read through both courses syllabus and see what he thinks, and then e-mail them asking about the issue with the visas.

It's pretty dope for sure. They got lots of equipment and lots of knowledgable teachers.

Was he going to do the diploma? I think they deffo put more time in to teaching the students doing that course than some of the others. The other courses can seem a bit rushed and once they have your money you get much less attention. I learned a lot though for sure.