COOL & QUIET PC GUIDE

Steve

I'm a bit of a novice at this stuff, so if anyone with some knowledge wants to add to this guide, either PM me or post in the thread and I'll edit it.

Personally, I hate noisy computers. My friend's machine sounds like a jet engine taking off. If yours is the same, there are some steps you can take to quieten it down. Quite often just replacing cheap, noisy fans can make a lot of difference in terms of noise, so even if you're a total n00b and you don't want to risk messing with the cooler and/or PSU, swapping out fans is something that you'll be able to do easily and cheaply.

1. Replacing the case fans.

Most of the noise that comes from your PC can be attributed to fans. Swapping fans for quieter ones is a quick and cheap way to reduce noise. There are two ratings to consider when looking at replacing case fans, dB(A) and CFM - essentially noise and airflow. There will always be some trade off as you can't have a "silent" fan with a super high CFM rating, so a compromise is what's needed. Don't assume that a bigger fan is going to be a lot noisier too, as the bigger the fan, the slower it needs to spin to push the same amount of air.

Personally, I favour Nexus fans: -

http://www.nexustek.nl/NXS-silentcasefans.htm

You can pick them up for about £2-£6 each depending on size. They come with silicone fan mounts which allow you to fix the fans to the case without using screws, which cuts down on any vibration.

2. Replacing the cooler/cooler fan.

Most pre-built computers will come with a stock CPU cooler. Depending on the design, you may be able to swap out the fan for a quick and easy reduction in noise, but it's probably a good idea to swap the entire cooler for something that's going to cool your CPU a bit better.

To fit a new cooler, you will need: -

a. The cooler itself!

b. Some ArctiClean or similar for removing any leftover thermal grease from your CPU.

c. Thermal grease, such as Arctic Silver 5.