Ragga DJ mixes

djdiggla

What is difference?

I'm not an expert so this is my dumbed down explanation. Dancehall is more sung and still has a roots vibe since its still usually a band of musicians playing the riddim. Raga is much more raw sounding. Usually Rapping so sounds more like Jamican hiphop. Most often beats are made with a keyboard so has that real synths feel and more modern synthetic bass. It also seems like the time sig is different but I don't know much about music theory... I think raga is 2/2 and dancehall is 3/4 or 4/4. I'm sure someone can correct me on that.

I got Inna Dancehall but that's more dancehall than ragga

In which case you're gonna have to clarify what you mean by "ragga"... if you mean the heavier more modern stuff like Bounty Killer, Elephant Man, Ward 21, etc, you're looking for "Bashment". Although I've got some of the records, the Shortkut mix I mentioned before is the only one I've ever had. I'm sure there's plenty out there, but it's not really my specialty I'm afraid.

• Like 1

What is difference?

Ragga came after dancehall and is a current genre. Nobody really makes dancehall anymore.

In which case you're gonna have to clarify what you mean by "ragga"... if you mean the heavier more modern stuff like Bounty Killer, Elephant Man, Ward 21, etc, you're looking for "Bashment". Although I've got some of the records, the Shortkut mix I mentioned before is the only one I've ever had. I'm sure there's plenty out there, but it's not really my specialty I'm afraid.

Bashment is just generic for Jamaican music of any kind. But yeah, that's the stuff... those are ragga artists. Capleton, Buju, Mad Cobra, etc.

Bashment is just generic for Jamaican music of any kind. But yeah, that's the stuff... those are ragga artists. Capleton, Buju, Mad Cobra, etc.