Auto Flare tutorial please.

Kutmandu

Hello All,

I'm new to the forums here and I have been learning to scratch for a little over 5 months now. I really want to learn this scratch if anyone is able to help me with it?

My boomerangs and one, two click flares are pretty consistent and I've finally got my head around the boom flare and would love to give the auto flare a try.

I have seen a youtube video of someone killing it with the auto flare but I'm not really following the ttm and his movements are too fast for me to catch what he's doing.

Thanks.

Thanks for that but that was the youtube video I was having trouble understanding what he was doing. I also have trouble understanding the notation as I'm still relatively new to the scratch scene.

Can someone maybe elaborate more on the hand movements and if it starts off open or closed? Thanks.

This combo is pretty advanced - especially for the time you've been scratching so far. But maybe you can work it out and you progress very quickly. :)

It's a 12-note-scratch and the fader click rhythm goes like this ("C" is click and "-" is no click, spaces are there to show the triplets)

C-C C-C C-C C-C

Not sure, if it that's easier for you but maybe regard it as an open fader scratch and start with the Baby - the first click is the last click but if you omit it at first it might be easier to get the 2-Click fader movement going.

So the rhythm of the fader is like a Boomerang or a 2-Click-Orbit but not started on the downbeat. Maybe, you'd like to work on delayed Orbits first (as always, check Chile's youtube).

What makes this combo really difficult is the record movement, so practice it slowly at first without the fader.

Hope this was helpful in one way or another. :)

As an oldschool head picking up new scratches, I'm stoked you asked this question! Dope combo I wasn't aware of but that feels a lot more natural than the boom flare or broken orbits. This made my day - thanks!