Scratching with Non-Dominant Hand

TopDown

Hello,

I'm new to scratching. I feel best with my left hand on the platter and right hand on the fader (I don't know if this is left or right handed). I've been practicing beginning scratches (baby and forwards) on both tables and have had decent and noticeable success on each side. When I got to the stab scratch everything changed. I practiced on the left table and I'm able to combo all the techniques I've learned so far but when on the right table I can't do the stab with any accuracy, it's like my left hand just won't coordinate to cut in time.

My question is.. Do most people find it easier to learn one side or the other and then just use the same hands on the table/fader but just switch sides? I guess since I like to use my left hand on the platter I would still use the left hand on the platter even when I'm scratching on the right table. OR do most people find they just need a little more time learning their non-dominant side and they scratch using both hands?

Peace

I'd say the most common thing is for people to practice to get through the "I suck with this hand on the record!" phase.

I have seen a couple of DJs cross their arms when scratching on the other side, but I don't think that's a good way to go if you want to be a turntablist/battle DJ. If you just want to scratch as part of your mix sets, it's fine I guess.

Likewise with having the mixer to one side of the decks. It seems kind of an old school thing to do now. I still do it, but I'm not a battle DJ. I'm a mix DJ that scratches, so I go that way as I can always have my right hand on the record. Qbert used to DJ that way, and there have been other successful battle DJs that use that setup (Crazy B for instance), but if my goal was to be a well rounded turntablist and I was just starting out I'd have the mixer in the middle.

• Like 1

• 3 weeks later...

Most people just pick a side and go with it.