Turntable Tabs (aka TTT)

Vekked

I've been sitting on this idea for a minute since I started playing guitar and obviously make use of tabs a lot, and I realized we don't *quite* have the same thing for scratching. Sure we have TTM/Scratch Notation, but it's not easy to convey without graphics, and it's closer to musical staff notation in that it can contain nearly perfect information about a scratch when drawn correctly. So I've been thinking about text-based scratch tabs as a quicker/more practical solution for people who can't or don't want to draw graphical scratch notation pics. (Disclaimer, obviously I didn't invent this and I know we've all tried to notate scratch with text at some point, I'm just trying to standardize it a bit). Here's what I got:

Record Forward: >
Record Backward: <
Click: |
Forward Tear: >)
Backward Tear: (<

That's it. It's read top to bottom with the beginning of the sample being on the left, and the end of the sample being on the right. Here are some basic scratches in TTT:

Baby Scratch
>
<

Chirp
>|
<

Stab
|>|

1 click flare orbit
>|>
<|<

Clover tear
>)>
<(<

1 click flare orbit over a clover tear
>)|>
<|(<

Simple Record Position and Timing

Simple record position and timing info can be provided by spaces/formatting. For example, a set of four "walking" 1 click flares on the forwards could be formatted like this:
>|>
<
>|>
<
>|>
<
>|>

Multiple ">" or "<" can be used to help more accurately scale the distance that the record moves better.

2 click flare forwards, no clicks back:

>|>|>

<<<

As opposed to:
>|>|>

<

The Test

Alright that's basically it. But this is the real test because unless it can convey scratches. Name the following (obviously these assume you know the scratch to begin with lol):

>|

|<
>

|<
>|

<

|>

|<

>|>

|<

>|>

|<<|<<

>)|>|

<

>|

<|(<

Answers:

1. Boomerang 2. Autobahn 3. Prism

Final Notes: