Speed, Strength, Endurance

Karol

What's up yall, I've progress a lot since I lately posted here, but when I watch some videos of such cutters as qbet tigerstyle and all of the greatest I cannot imagine how fast and strong they are. Plus how clear their scratches are. Do you guys have any special training tips on how to develop such a great skills? I'm training amost every day for at least 2 hours (yeah qbert has been training for 30 years/ 12 hours a day). When it comes to new techniques I pretty quickly get a grasp and can do them on regular tempo. But when it comes to speed, its a whole fucking struggle to get that full speed and repeat it over 8 bars. I've been learning boomerangs for 2 years still cannot repeat them over 8 bars in double time. My orbits flares are pretty fast, yet not that fast as somebody else's. How long have you been practicing one technique to master it completely?

Edited by Karol

If you're doing 2 hours a day and varying it over different tempos and trying new things I'm sure you're on the right track. I noticed the speed of my stabs and chirps definitely improved when I made sure to do even just 10-20 mins a day on them, just drilling the basics.

Don't know if you've seen it but there is an excellent video where Vekked goes through his drilling routines for boomerangs etc you may get some tips there. https://www.pyramind.com/events/2016/5/18/elite-session-with-dj-vekked-5-time-dmc-world-champion

I think if you're having some troubles speeding up the techniques there may be some things you can tweak in your technique - maybe post a vid and one of the scratch dons in here will be happy to help you out if they see something.

To be honest I look at loads of other people scratching and however much I'm sure we're putting our clicks in the same places, things just don't sound the same and I guess that's just based on human difference, everyone moves the record slightly differently....

• Like 1