is it illegal to sell dj mixes?

trevor dane

id like to put some mixes on cd with artwork and try to push it like an album, i see mixes for sale in record stores but is there any risk of getting sued or having to share the $?

Yes it's illegal (in most places at least), and there's a "risk" of getting sued in the sense that theoretically you could... but think of it like this (disclaimer: I'm not a lawyer): it costs 1000s (maybe 10,000+?) for a label or something to sue you, so unless you're making that kind of money they're not going to lose money to sue you to prove a point. So even if you somehow got on their radar for selling your mixes. they'd have to actual put the time and money into suing you as well, which is very unlikely.

This is just the general advice I've gotten from any veterans I've talked to about music copyright in general. Unless you're making real money you don't have much to worry about. The only person I've known of getting into copyright issues of all the people I've met so far is someone who actually looped a relatively well known song for a beat and submitted the song to a song writing competition thrown by the organization who is in charge of distributing music royalties. In other words, it took them being about as shameless as you possibly can be in order for them to get caught.

• Like 1

Standard answer

No it is not legal to sell mixes of other peoples work, the copyright owners must be informed and payment agreed.

Real answer

Mix is a mix is a mix, if you aren't planning on pressing up 1000s and distributing to suppliers, it is unlikely anybody will even notice, and reality is that a bunch of these guys know that their stuff is going on mixes (Assuming you mean contemporary dance music of one form or another)