Off Topic but Whats the best Social Media Site to get an audience as a female and beginner!?

jefina

Hi people. I am a lady and a beginner at this..i do it part time, due to time restrictions with Uni and everything, so anyway i have the Pioneer DDJ SB2 as my controller..which i think is great for a beginner!. I just recently learned how to make mixes. I am not confident enough to share a mix just yet, i am all about waiting until i get to a level where i feel comfortable enough to share. I know that i am probably looking way ahead but i wanted to get your opinions on what social media platforms work best when you want to get like your very first gig?

I have a love/hate relationship with SoundCloud. The only thing I hate about it is the copyright restrictions, which, while understandable, are annoying for DJs sharing mixes. If your mix doesn't get taken down though, I think it's one of the best places to host stuff due to its popularity.

YouTube can be great, although you can run into the same copyright issues there too. I've had mixes where content owners have just monetised my video and left it alone outside of that, but on one occasion, one company put in a copyright claim that got the audio from my mix removed, so rather than cut the song out, I just deleted the video.

Building an audience is another matter though. I like SoundCloud and YouTube because of their large userbases, but there's a lot of competition and a lot of other DJs out there trying to get their mixes heard. I haven't made a new mix for a while, but when I used to make them I'd go around various forums I was a member of, posting the mix on those. There are also blogs that will feature mixes - getting one of my mixes on Flea Market Funk and Pipomixes gave that mix a big boost in listens and got people sharing it on social media and their own blogs.